Visit Wheathampstead and the surrounding villages and stay in bed & breakfast accommodation:
Wheathampstead, Hertfordshire, has grown in recent years and developed some modern industries, but it still retains its picturesque charm, and although the little cottages are now mainly shops they are interesting and pleasing to look at.
Hills look down on the village and the River Lea flows through it. The path by the river is overhung with trees.
On the north side of the road from St Albans, are Roman remains, and two stretches of earthworks can be found on the heath of the slopes above the river: the Devil's Dyke and the Slad, both National Trust property. The Dyke is 1,400 ft long and the Slad is almost the same length but narrower and not so deep.
St Helen's Church was begun in the 13th century. It is a large flint building with the nave the same length as the chancel and a crossing tower with a lead spire dominating the scenery. Both the north window in the north transept and the south window in the south transept have ogee tracery. The church is richly designed and Contains a fine reredos and, in the chancel, a canopied piscina. The octagonal font is early 14th century, its carved leaves bearing quatrefoil circles. The pulpit is Jacobean and, like two benches in the north transept, was taken from a chapel at Lamer House. In the same transept is a Jacobean screen. There are many monuments showing the history of the village. One in the north transept, dating from about 1436, shows the figures of Hugh Bostok and his wife, parents of Abbot Wheathampstead of St Albans. Also in the north transept is the Garrard Monument, the largest in the church, probably early 17th century, with big surrounds and columns and semi-reclining alabaster figures. There are many Garrard tablets here, for the Garrard family came from Lamer Park. One of particular interest shows Sir John, who was one of the earliest baronets, dressed in armour, with his wife and six sons and eight daughters. In the north transept is a rare stone reredos with seven canopied niches.
Water End Farm, l¼ miles East of the village, is a charming house by a ford. It was originally the manor of the Jennings family and was built of brick in about 1610; it has large decorated chimney stacks.
Mackery End, two miles North East of the village, is where Charles Lamb often visited and about which he wrote some delightful essays. He describes it as a gentle walk from Wheathampstead. It is a brick-fronted building with Dutch gables and a brick-plastered central porch.
The mill in the village is mentioned in the Domesday Book, and close by is Bricket Hill, a fine mansion of c. 1790.
Adjacent cities/towns/villages: Abbots Langley, Aston, Aston End, Ayot St. Lawrence, Ayot St. Peter, Bricket Wood, Brookmans Park, Caddington, Chiltern Green, Codicote, Cole Green, Colney Heath, Datchworth, Digswell, East Hyde, Essendon, Flamstead, Harpenden, Hatfield, High Welwyn, Kings Langley, Kings Walden, Kingsbourne Green, Knebworth, Langley, Leagrave, Leverstock Green, London Colney, Luton, Markyate, Newmill End, North Mimms, North Mymms, Northaw, Panshanger, Park Street, Preston, Redbourn, Sandridge, Shephall, St. Albans, St. Pauls Walden, Stevenage, Stopsley, Tewin, The Hyde, Welwyn, Welwyn Garden City, Whitwell
Have you decided to visit Wheathampstead or the surrounding villages? Please look above for somewhere to stay in:
- a Wheathampstead bed and breakfast (a Wheathampstead B&B or Wheathampstead b and b)
- a Wheathampstead guesthouse
- a Wheathampstead hotel (or motel)
- a Wheathampstead self-catering establishment, or
- other Wheathampstead accommodation